April 17 – 22

Work:

AdWords: Hurrah – the go-ahead to implement Google AdWords more intensively and try and maximize the monthly $10,000 in free ads we get through our Google Grant.

AGM: A Board Member commended me on the curated presence we have on Facebook, and my interpretation that our audience is not on Twitter.

Event Details: Marketing emails, filled up seats, webstreaming communications and management preparation, plus planning to edit the talks.

Newsletter: Drafting the newsletter begins, and scheduling my contributors.

 

Reading: 

Ohhhhh, I finished a fiction book (Island of Books) and started a new one (Invisible Dead – set explicitly and firmly in Vancouver)

Manage Up with your Boss

Microlearning  

 

Job Search:

Making connections in LinkedIn:  I got a pep talk from a Board Member about connecting with people on LinkedIn. I thought that it wasn’t a platform that was well used, and so only a static landing page for me, but he thinks differently. I’ve been sending invites, which gives me connections, and I’m seeing more posts and comments as I connect with active users. A reminder that asking for help doesn’t have to be pushy.

I’ve got a few applications that are still “active”, and a couple to write up this weekend.

Connecting with the HR representative who offered to help: That’s this afternoon. The plan is to ask about the relative value of one-page versus two-page resumes, and keywords in case of machine scanning.

 

Self-care:

All about the running this week, as I prepare for the Sun Run (part of the Modo Car Co-op team) and look ahead to the June half-marathon.

Leave a Reply

