April 2 -8

Work

I’ve been thinking about the upcoming changes at work; keeping up with the ongoing demands (reaction), but also trying to pave the way for after our contract formally ends, and the office is reduced to two.

I’ve started a content audit of the website; part of this is brute force. I have a list of the pages we host in WordPress, and the rough outline of hierarchy. I’m now brainstorming which ones will be deleted, and which ones can be amalgamated or re-written to clean up language. With that outline, I will share with my colleagues for their input. My experience is that it’s easier for colleagues to edit and comment than to start from scratch.

Reading

Feedly (my RSS aggregater) has introduced some new features, so the next step is to learn what “boards” are.

In the meantime, I need to read Nancy White’s post on Technology or Preparation (itself a response to Clark Quinn) in more detail.

And this article on beliefs and blinders from the Atlantic gives pause when considering the Fake News posts on Facebook, my own biases, and the “gut feelings” that drive people to make decisions that are not based in any evidence. How DO we change people’s minds?

Leave a Reply

