Is is about the authenticity?

We hosted a presentation/discussion on Wikipeda last month, and I feel like people are not fundamentally getting the concept that it is a collaborative venture.

There were a couple of people who came who left the session with less faith in Wikipdia than when they came in (which was not my intention); they were in fact surprised to hear that Wikipedia can be edited by anyone. Which is one of the first facts that people generally know, I thought. So I felt badly about this.

 I’m presenting again next week, and so I’m going to address our social norms (ie, manners your mother taught you),  and how that inhibits our collaboration. Plus, I’m going to emphasize the differences between a product and a process.

Leave a Reply

