Blogs that I have known, and blogs that I have found

Vote are being accepted for the Bloggers Choice Awards, which is a pretty handy way of finding new blogs. The Best Education Blog is so broad (homeschooling, primary and secondary, post-secondary and for-the-love-of-learning blogs are all in this category) that the rating system is pretty meaningless, but I’m going down the list finding familiar names, and new feeds for my RSS reader, Google Reader.

Here is my pared down list of Blogs That May Be of General Interest to the Post-Secondary Community.

Stephen Downes works for the National Research Council, and more importantly is opinionated and prolific. He has a daily email that cobbles together interesting things that are on the Internet, mostly related to learning and new media. He’s prolific, and so I can’t read everything he writes or links to, but I’ve been watching him for years.

Dangerously Irrelevant is written by someone in the primary or secondary school system, but the ruminations on technology and policy are plenty interesting. A new feed for my RSS feed Reader.

AcademHack is one of my favourite blogs. Dave’s posts are interesting, cover a broad range of topics, and clearly situate technologies as something to enable or assist learning. Well worth going through interesting category links to find archived posts (such as Using the Web to help Students Develop Paper Topics, or How to Build and Publish Your Presentation.

Some blog names are clever or cute and some, like Dave’s Educational Blog go for the straightforward approach. He is a new discovery, and doesn’t seem to post often, but does post long thoughtful commentary on current issues (instead of quick snippits of other peoples ideas and opinions).

That’s only four, but there were a lot to look at. In another post I’ll look at the contents of my feed reader.

1 thought on “Blogs that I have known, and blogs that I have found”

  1. Thanks for the kind words about Dangerously Irrelevant. FYI, I’m an educational administrator professor at The University of Minnesota and director of the UCEA Center for the Advanced Study of Technology Leadership in Education (CASTLE). You can read more about me at http://www.scottmcleod.net/about.

    I’m glad you’re liking my blog. Let me know if you have any suggestions!

Leave a Reply

